About Us Governance » Introduction

Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales Council

Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales is governed by a Council of 20 people – 12 elected and 8 appointed governors. Those elected come from among our members, learners and staff. The Council’s role is to provide overall leadership and scrutiny, ensuring that the organisation meets its mission and purpose while retaining its principles and values, at the same time as it abides by the stipulations of its funding bodies.

For Council meeting minutes (including those from our previous body WEA YMCA CC Cymru), please see here.

The Council has committees to which it delegates some of its responsibilities – on learner experience, audit, finance and staffing resources, and the search for future governors. There are also management groups on which governors are represented, covering: the Harlech campus; Welsh language and Welshness; Equality and Diversity; Safeguarding; Health, Safety and Environment; Marketing; Information Technology; and Membership matters. These decide on certain issues and provide recommendations to Council in terms of strategic direction and policies. They try to ensure that the learners’ voice is central, that targets are being met, that Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales is financially sound and is compliant with legal and financial regulations, and that the views of the organisation’s wider membership are reflected in our work.

Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales Council Members


John Graystone

Executive Chair, Agored Cymru and former Chief Executive of Colleges Wales

  Sonia Reynolds
Vice Chair
South West
Member of Upper Amman and Twrch Branch and Former Deputy Director, Dept. of Education & Skills, Welsh Government

Toni Schiavone
Vice Chair
Mid Wales

Welsh Government Education Specialist and former Director, Basic Skills Agency


Gerry Jenson

Former Vice-Principal of Coleg Llandrillo


Gayle Hudson

Widening Access Manager, The Open University in Wales

  Glenys Hughes-Jones
Staff Development and Training Manager, Flintshire County Council

Iwan Hywel
Team Leader and Training Officer, Mentrau Iaith Cymru

  Chris Franks
Elected by Individual Members
Former Member, South Wales Central Region, National Assembly for Wales

Nick Taylor
North East
Tutor and former WEA Learning Manager for Wrexham and Flintshire, and for trade union education in north Wales


David Elis-Williams
North West
Former Corporate Director of Finance, Isle of Anglesey County Council


Heather Willbourn
South East

Former Senior Lecturer and Community Development Officer, University of South Wales


Caroline Davies
South Wales Central

Corporate Apprenticeship and Traineeship Coordinator, City of Cardiff Council

Cathy Clark
Learner Governor
Blackwood & Oakdale Branch learner


Kaitlin Crisp
Learner Governor
Learner on Social Care and Youth Work courses

  Marjorie Williams
Learner Governor
Learner on Information Technology and Family History courses
  Dafydd Rhys
Staff governor
Membership Services Officer, Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales, based in Bangor

June Jeremy
Staff Governor
Payroll Administrator, Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales, based in Cardiff



Stephen Thomas
Company Secretary and Clerk


Please email any queries to Stephen Thomas, Company Secretary and Clerk.