Our Council

Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales is governed by a Council of 20 people – 12 elected and 8 appointed governors. Those elected come from among our members, learners and staff. The Council’s role is to provide overall leadership and scrutiny, ensuring that the organisation meets its mission and purpose while retaining its principles and values, at the same time as it abides by the stipulations of its funding bodies.

For Council meeting minutes (including those from our previous body WEA YMCA CC Cymru), please see here.

The Council has committees to which it delegates some of its responsibilities – on learner experience, audit, finance and staffing resources, and the search for future governors.

There are also management groups on which governors are represented, covering: the Harlech campus; Welsh language and Welshness; Equality and Diversity; Safeguarding; Health, Safety and Environment; Marketing; Information Technology; and Membership matters. These decide on certain issues and provide recommendations to Council in terms of strategic direction and policies. They try to ensure that the learners’ voice is central, that targets are being met, that Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales is financially sound and is compliant with legal and financial regulations, and that the views of the organisation’s wider membership are reflected in our work.

Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales Council Members

John Graystone 
Interim Chair, Appointed

Gerry Jenson

Gayle Hudson

Glenys Hughes-Jones

Iwan Hywel

Chris Franks
Elected by Individual Members

Nick Taylor
North East

Heather Willbourn
South East

Caroline Davies
South Wales Central

Sonia Reynolds
South West

Toni Schiavone
Mid Wales

Cathy Clark
Learner Governor

Kaitlin Crisp
Learner Governor

Marjorie Williams
Learner Governor

Dafydd Rhys
Staff Governor

June Jeremy
Staff Governor

Stephen Thomas
Company Secretary and Clerk

Please email any queries to Stephen Thomas, Company Secretary and Clerk.