Our Council

Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales is governed by a Council of up to 20 people – 12 elected and 8 appointed governors. Those elected come from among our members, learners and staff. The Council’s role is to provide overall leadership and scrutiny, ensuring that the organisation meets its mission and purpose while retaining its principles and values, at the same time as it abides by the stipulations of its funding bodies.

For Council meeting minutes please see here.

The Council has committees to which it delegates some of its responsibilities – on learner experience, audit, finance and staffing resources, and the search for future governors.

There are also management groups on which governors are represented, covering: Welsh and Bilingualism; Safeguarding, Equality and Diversity; Safety and Environmental; and Campaign, Membership and Communications matters. These decide on certain issues and provide recommendations to Council in terms of strategic direction and policies. They try to ensure that the learners’ voice is central, that targets are being met, that Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales is financially sound and is compliant with legal and financial regulations, and that the views of the organisation’s wider membership are reflected in our work.

Addysg Oedolion Cymru | Adult Learning Wales Council Members

John Graystone 
Chair, Appointed

Sonia Reynolds
Vice Chair, South West
Toni Schiavone

Vice Chair, Mid Wales
Daryl Leeworthy
South East
Caroline Davies
South Wales Central
Cathy Clark
Learner Governor

Stephen Thomas
Company Secretary and Clerk

Gerry Jenson

Suzanne Samuel

Guy Wallace Smith

Julie Cook
Iwan Hywel
Chris Franks
Elected by Individual Members
Nick Taylor
North East
Jenni Jones-Annetts
Learner Governor
Stephen Nicholls
Learner Governor
Gareth Cork
Staff Governor

Dafydd Rhys
Staff Governor

Please email any queries to Stephen Thomas, Company Secretary and Clerk.